#QuickPost – Thinking About Differentiation


Recently, while planning next terms lessons, I had a bit of a revelation when think about how  to differentiate.

Previously I had always thought of different activities (usually at three different levels) and therefore the outcomes were slightly different for different children.

It occurred to me that really, what differentiation should be about is the measures put in place so that all children can achieve the same learning objective.

I think this is a subtle, but important distinction and a slightly different way of thinking.

One thought on “#QuickPost – Thinking About Differentiation

  1. An old ‘adage’ I was told by an SEN teacher when I first started teaching was ‘differentiation by outcome’ This worked well when I taught science as I often ‘graded’ a lessons objectives by level or difficulty.

Leave a Reply

