TwitTwho?


owlIn today’s ICT lesson I presented my Year 8 class with the following…

#TwitTwho I was born on the 28th January 1857. I invented a “calculating machine” and founded the American Arithmometer Company in 1886

I explained that #TwitTwho was a game played on Twitter in which people could tweet clues and others could try to identify who the clues referred to. I explained that my clue referred to William S. Burroughs who was famous for inventing mechanical calculators. I then asked the children to use this list of Information Pioneers and select five people to write #TwitTwho clues about.

Here are some of their best examples…

#twittwho my second name is a Indian food . These are the letters muddled up  C R Y U R  and I am to do with  Acorn Computers.

#twittwho I was born on the 11th of August 1950, and I am now sixty two. I was the co-founder of Apple. I am known as Woz.

#twittwho I was born on 23 June 1912 and I died on 7 June 1954 I invented the first detailed design of a stored-program computer.

#twittwho I wrote ‘De Revolutionibus Orbium Coelestium’, and was investigating in to science during the renaissance period.  I died aged 70.

#twittwho I was born August 6, 1943 and died October 16, 1998 (aged 55) Postel Award is named in his honour.

#twittwho I was born on the 22 of Dec 1905 I designed colossus during world war 2 it was the worlds first programmable electronic computer.

#twittwho I was born on Christmas Day 1642. My tomb is in Westminster Abbey.

#twittwho In the ancient world I was the big man in physics.I was born in 384 BC, I died in 322 BC.

#twittwho I am a mathematician from 1791 and died in 1871 and some of my unfinished work is in the London science museum.

Can you identify them all?

 photo credit: Emerging Birder via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

