Are Computers Clever?


This week during their ICT lesson Reception were asked whether they thought computers were clever. Every child put their hand up to say Yes and were then surprised when I said I didn’t think they were very clever.

I went on to explain that computers can only do what they are told to do – someone has to give them instructions. I told the children that what computers are good at is remembering lots and lots of instructions and then doing them very very quickly.

The children then became little computers and I was their ‘programmer’. I gave them an instruction and told them they had to wait till I said ‘Run’ before they could carry out the instructions.

We started with one instruction and then started adding instructions to see how well they could remember them. After each set of instructions the ‘computers’ were reset and I then invited the children to take turns at being the ‘programmer’.

 

One thought on “Are Computers Clever?

Leave a Reply

