ICT Strands in Action


In a previous post I shared my thoughts on a new ICT curriculum for my school featuring four different strands – Digital Literacy, Digital Creativity, Digital Technology and Digital Society. Now that I can clearly see this strands in my head it really helps me when planning and teaching a lesson to think about the different areas and cover everything I want to cover.

With Year 6 this term the children will be looking into the history of video games and in their first lesson I was able to include all four strands. We discussed binary, bits, bytes, RAM and processing speed (Digital Technology), the children researched old video games consoles (Digital Literacy), began to create a timeline of video gaming (Digital Creativity) and we also discussed topics such as the age rating of games such as Modern Warfare 3 and Assassin’s Creed, and children having games consoles in their bedrooms (Digital Society).

One thought on “ICT Strands in Action

  1. Hi Chris,

    I’m very keen to follow similar ideas myself with my Year 6…

    Be very willing to collaborate on projects, etc.

    What does your planning ‘look’ like?

    Regards,

    Roger Perry
    @Rog_Perry

Leave a Reply

