Gunpowder, Tweeting and Plot #gtp2010


Last year I ran a history project with a small group of Year 6 children. This project looked at the Gunpowder Plot and specifically the events following Guy Fawkes’ capture. The idea of this project was to explore how web 2:0 tools could be used in history lessons. I wanted the children to be able to research the events and then use the Internet to present their research in a variety of ways.

One of the most successful parts of the project was the Twitter account of Robert Catesby. Catesby was the mastermind of the plot and the children tweeted his story as he fled from London following the plots discovery. The children researched the events and wrote out their tweets before scheduling them for delivery using hootsuite. The tweets ran from the morning of the 5th November until the final standoff at Holbeche House on the 8th.

The project gained many followers and proved very popular. It was very exciting watching the messages arrive especially as I did not know exactly what the children ahd written or when they had scheduled them to be sent.

I’m hoping to re-run the project this year but would like to make it even bigger and involve other schools. I have just spent the morning writing up the events of the Gunpowder Plot from various sources and would really like others to take on the roles of different plotters so that the full story can be told. I imagine several groups all tweeting as different members of the conspiracy all using a common hashtag so that people can follow the project.

Let me know if you would like to join the project – I imagine it would work better with a small group (ICT club) rather than a whole class.

Any suggestions or comments more than welcome.

6 Responses to “Gunpowder, Tweeting and Plot #gtp2010”

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Chris Leach and Robert Catesby, Chris Leach. Chris Leach said: Gunpowder, Tweeting and Plot #gtp2010: http://wp.me/pASrx-4T [...]

  2. I love this idea! I certainly want to use it with my Year Three this year. However, I don’t really know whereabouts it will fit in to the Y3 curriculum yet!

    Looking forward to reading this year’s story!

  3. Becky Ellis Says:

    I think you should check TwHistory.org. They have re-enactments already going and are planning on more. They would be willing to collaborate I am sure.

  4. [...] Gunpowder, Tweeting and Plot #gtp2010 [...]

  5. I love this idea! Will you be doing again this year?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,785 other followers

